LimeSDR as a Amateur Radio Transciever

So, i am a total noob on these things. Just got my technicians license and working on my general license.

I see a lot about using the LimeSDR for receive, especially in HF, but not so much on transmit. Is that an option? are there specific problems that need to be overcome to transmit in HF/VHF( also, i see Power Output (CW) = 10dBm but, what does that mean?)

Anyway, I am interested in creating software for this on android, learning about radio and SDR, and using it for QRP with my cellphone/tablet as the external processor.

Thanks for any answersā€¦

1 Like

RockStarArtist,

First, letā€™s tackle the easy questions - - The LimeSDR does support TWO channels of transmit in a full duplex configuration (meaning, the two receive inputs are not shared with the transmit and can be tuned anywhere from the transmit outputs) and their power output of +10dBm means that the output power is 10mW (0dBm = 1mW, +10dBm = 10mW, +20dBm = 100mW, +30dBm = 1W and so onā€¦). With 10mW of power you can use the LimeSDR in its native state for such modes as WSPR (which you can use with your General License when you get it), or even PSK31. With a little transmit amplifier that can be boosted to power levels of up to 5W or more - Iā€™m actually working on a transmit/receive amp for the LimeSDR, too, for Amateur Radio use that will have an output power of 1 - 5W in the HF region (1.8 - 29.5 MHz). Developers are working on the transmit functionality and Simon Brownā€™s SDRConsole V3.0 will be one of the Windows applications that can support the LimeSDR for receive and transmit. Other apps will be out there, too, but there hasnā€™t been much buzz on this forum about it and Iā€™m even waiting to hear more.