Complete Noob looking for my first RX/TX SDR

Hello everyone,

I’m a new member as well as a COMPLETE noob on anything SDR/HAM/etc. A few years ago I stumbled onto SDR on the web and was captivated by Michael Ossmann’s design proposal of an TX/TX affordable (relative term) sdr, so I purchased an rtl-sdr from NooElec to see what is was all about and it sat in my office desk unused until earlier this year; Now retired and with a bit of time on my hands, I decided to try this little gem and got hooked on spectrum browsing.

So now I’m thinking that I would like to work towards my HAM (tech) license and upgrade to an rx/tx sdr; So for my budget of ~$300 there’s Michaels (now a product) HackRF and LimeSDR. There’s a lot of info on HackRF form many sources but much less on the LimeSDR.

I’m currently leaning towards the LimeSDR mainly do to it’s board design and newer componentry (FPGA vs CPLD, 12b vs 8b, USB3 vs USB2, etc) and upgrade path via FPGA, but I would appreciate some clarification of my thoughts on a couple of noob questions:

1. What is between 3.8Ghz-6Ghz that I would be missing with LimeSDR.
  2. Will I need to buy/rent firmware (FPGA) for normal use or is that (Ubuntu Snappy Core store) only for special purpose radio apps.

Thanks in advance…
Hose

1> Since you mention ham I’ll guess that you are in the US.
It really does depend on what you are interested in. Take a look at these two links and decide if there is anything that interests you.

https://transition.fcc.gov/oet/spectrum/table/fcctable.pdf

Once you are in the microwave frequency range, then RF can be directed into narrow beams and transmitted by parabolic dishes, I would guess that most of the spectrum is used for line of sight point-to-point communication links, wireless LANs (5170US/5725WW <-> 5875 MHz ISM band) and Satellite communication.