Output power limesdr

Hi Karolis,

I am new to LimeSDR. I was wondering if you could guide me as to how you created the max output power graph in the above thread? do you have formulas in excel that you could share?

I am trying to understand what the max output power is for limesdr. Using an anritsu spectrum analyzer I have been able to receive a -33 dBm signal. I saw that other users using an analyzer received about the same received power -35 dBm in their case (from googling this topic). I know the specs have 0 dBm and in other docs +10 dBm but I don’t think those are achievable. without an amplifier and high gain antennas. Could you share the *.ini file if you have it that you use to configure limeSuite GUI if that is the tool you used to transmit the signals recorded in the graph?

Thank you in advance for any feedback you may provide,

Joel

Hello Joel,

To measure the max output power for LimeSDR, please use the state file (provided in the link below) for LimeSuiteGUI.

TX output power measurement state file

Please note:

1. State file is configured for A channel operation only;
  2. You have to change the active output band selection in TRF tab (enable either Band 1 or Band 2);
  3. When you load the .ini file, please calibrate all PLLs (press calculate in CLKGEN, SXR and SXT tabs);
  4. When you load the .ini file, please go to TxTSP tab (when A channel is selected), write “7fff” to the field called “DC_REG:” and press “Load to DC I” and “Load to DC Q”.

You can then get the frequency response by sweeping the SXT value in the desired range.

Hope this helps,
Karolis

Hi Karolis,

Thank you so much!! I was able to get real close to your transmit output power chart. but I am baffled by an increasing delta in the power received as frequency decreases between your chart and mine. I put your output power series in excel for tx port 1 and compared it to mine and the results are below: