Fast tuning requests leading to some sample flow interruptions

Hello, I’ve posted a topic this morning about some issues when trying to Doppler correct satellites, but I’ve deleted it since the issues can be mitigated in software and thus the details are irrelevant.

Nevertheless, I have a question for Lime developers: with Lime hardware I have some very short sample flow interruptions and some artefacts appearing and manifesting as audio pops while device center frequency tuning requests are made. This only manifests on my Lime hardware (mini and LimeNET micro).
Is this a known software issue? I don’t think it’s caused by something in hardware. Using the latest liblimesuite and SoapyLMS7 plugin.

(I’m not a Lime developer but) It happens with all SDR hardware, when you retune the frequency, it is caused by invalid input and discontinuities in the samples. For simplicity imagine the samples from a a single real ADC are 12,13,15,17,18 (and then you retune the frequency), there is a delay while the PLL(s) lock from the old to the new frequency (during which time the ADC is not sampling a valid input), then due to the change in frequency the samples could be 128,130,131,133, … The invalid samples and that discontinuity in the time domain may manifest as a temporary raise in the noise floor across all frequencies in the frequency domain, resulting in a loud click or pop.

The sine wave vector is just the values of sine(x), where x is every 30 degrees until it repeats. e.g. (0.0,0.5,0.866,1 ,0.866,0.5,0.0,-0.5,-0.866,-1 ,-0.866,-0.5) In the one bad sample vector I changed 1 value in the valid sine wave and then I padded out the vector with 15 other valid sine wave vectors (I should have used more valid sine wave), it is not perfect to show the effect, but it is good enough (you are seeing far too much of the actual signal, and not enough noise).