LimeSDR and antenna

Hi guys,

I am new with SDR and I just received my new LimeSDR 2 weeks ago. Since then I have been playing with it, but it doesn’t has antenna. Unfortunately, I don’t have any antenna. I have been trying to build FM receiver with GNU Radio but it hasn’t worked yet. I tried to use Gqrx to receive FM transmission but it didn’t work as well. My question is do I have to use antenna to work with LimeSDR?

Best regards,
Kirianto

short answer … yes

a receiver can not work without an antenna

Hi,

Thanks for the answer. I thought Lime has an internal antenna so I didn’t buy the external antenna but it seems I have to buy one :slight_smile:

BR
Kirianto

do you have the lime with case?? then you can screw antenna to the sockets
if you just have the lime (no case, no connectors) … then first
buy some u.fl to sma pigtails (a short cable with ufl connector on one end and sma or reverse sma on the other end)
what area are you wanna work in?? 2.4 gig ??? or on 433 megs??
depending of the frequency you wanna use you also need a antenna FOR THAT frequency!!
so if you wanna use 2.4 gig then i would recommend ufl to reverse sma (reason is in evilbay you find a lot of antennas for 2.4 gig for wifi gear and they all have reverse sma)
for all other setup i recommend using “normal” sma sockets and if needed adapt from there
buy a case where you can mount the sockets in
add a fan and a cooler to the lime (only needed for longer use cause then it may get a bit hotter)

greetz sigi

ps … if you do not even know the basics then i think the lime is not the right toy for you … grin