Drone communication using LimeSDR

Hi,

I’m new to this whole SDR, I’m trying to create my own transmitter/receiver for my drone in LTE band. I need TCP/IP stack for the App to communicate between the two sides (drone & operator),

is it possible to connect LimeSDR in both sides and create virtual Ethernet port at the OS level. the goal is to have the flexibility to communicate between the two sides and configuring it based on the required distance, bandwidth, latency … etc

any advice on the way forward is appreciated.

1 Like

Hi @abu_abudulla,

Everything is possible, as they say :slight_smile: However, I would suggest that a more optimal solution is probably going to be to have an off-the-shelf LTE radio in the drone, as this is going to be far smaller than a LimeSDR + e.g. Core i7 PC, and will consume a great deal less power. Then run Amarisoft or OpenAirInterface on a PC with LimeSDR attached to create the LTE base station.

Of course, LTE is perhaps overkill if you just want a point-to-point link with a virtual NIC at either side. There will be technically far simpler solutions, but again if this means a software radio on both ends and you want a broadband connection, it will mean having to carry a fairly powerful PC aloft in addition to the LimeSDR.

thanks @andrewback,

I tried to search for more than a month of a way to connect my drone (with raspberry pi) and i ended up here. i couldn’t find cost effective LTE radio (appreciate if you can suggest here). all what i found is enterprise level equipment. the best was mobilicom MCU-30 lite which is only 200g (battery supplied) but they shocked me with their price, $4.5k per unit.

LTE is not preferred here, it is just that my setup is working now using a normal 4G data package from our operator but the latency is more than 3 seconds (VPN is involved here) !! it is not acceptable for such application.