The world of radio (RF)

Since I am new to the world of radio I have been pummeled by acronyms. I have even started making my own sqlite dictionary just to keep up. One definitition has been hard to nail down.

I see DC mentioned a lot. And I have it defined as Direct Conversion. But then I see things like good from DC to 6GHz and then think I’ve got some gaps in my understanding.

Maybe someone knows of a one-stop page of radio acronyms? I have found some but usually they are outdated or incomplete (or both).

It can mean Direct Conversion, but in that context I would interpret it as Direct Current or 0 Hz as in there is no Alternating Current component to the signal. But the reality of most SDR hardware is that they will not measure the DC component, most have a capacitor on their input to block any DC voltage. If you were really interested in the DC bias of a signal an oscilloscope of a multi-meter would be a better instrument to measure it.

As for a list of every radio acronym, I’ve never seen one, but if I ever see a TLA or ETLA and I’m stumped I usually just ask. There are lots of people happy to correct you, or point you in the right direction - https://xkcd.com/386/

DC or 0Hz is the same.
So yes, 0-6GHz is what is meant.
Most products that I’ve seen that state 0-6GHz are usually Analog Devices based analog to digital converters.

In reality, achieving that outside the ADC requires lots of filtering, multiple filter circuits that are switched.
A good example would be the Tek 306b spectrum analyzer, which someone did a tear down a while back on youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pjqnLTGseMY

Follow to signal flow in that video, especially the more detailed section.

As far as RF related acronyms goes, and how to pick it up quickly, I recommend coffee and reading.
www.microwaves101.com is pretty decent resource of info, while being easy to digest.