LimeSDR to work out antenna resonant frequency?

Hi guys,

I am a complete newbie at radio and SDR, so please bear with me…

I recently received my LimeSDR and am loving this whole new world.

I recently saw an article that shows how you can use the LimeSDR as a VNA. The function that interests me most is to see what the optimum frequency is of a particular antenna. (S11 return loss??)

So I have bought a few bits and pieces which I hope are sufficient:

1 x Lime SDR
1 x ebay RF Bridge by 60dBm.com
1 x 50ohm dummy load (SMA)
and a couple of sma pigtails.

What I am missing it seems is a 10db attenuator. Do I really need this? Could I blow up my LimeSDR?

So I have connected the LimeSDR TX2_H to the Input of the RF bridge, the 50ohm load on the REF connector, the antenna I want to test on DUT, and the OUT back to the RX1_H on the LimeSDR.

Is that correct? Will this setup work?

Thanks very much in advance. I have been a networking engineer (CCIE) for 20 years now, but have never messed around in RF land.

Appreciate any input :slight_smile:

loiphin.

No one bothered? Surely someone should know about this…

@loiphin,