How to Generate RF Tone from SDRAM or onboard memory

Hi all, I am new in using the LimeSDR. I want to use the limeSDR to generate a single tone or multi-tone by IQ data. Currently I am using streaming to send the IQ data to limeSDR, but once I stop streaming, the RF tone would gone, so I need to keep streaming the IQ data to hold the RF tone.

What I am thingking is that, once I stream the IQ data to limeSDR, the IQ data would be stored in the SDRAM, so I don’t need to stream the same IQ data again, but I really don’t know how to do that? How to generate the RF tone from SDRAM and repeat this operation for ever until I stop the program?

Any idea/example/documents would help, Thanks.

1 Like

Hi,
what do you use to stream data?
if you use LMS API then with LimeSDR-USB you can try to use:

LMS_UploadWFM(lms_device_t *device, const void **samples, uint8_t chCount, size_t sample_count, int format);

format should be 2 - for float data, and 1 - for int16 data
sample count must be multiple of 4

and then

LMS_EnableTxWFM(lms_device_t *device, unsigned chan, bool active)

1 Like

Hi IgnasJ,

Thanks for the reply, it’s working now base on your suggestions. Some more question:

1. according to “limesuite.h”, I found the data format as below, which is different from your setting. Actually, your setting is corrent, I just wonder how do you get this setting? From which file?
    enum
    {
    LMS_FMT_F32=0, ///<32-bit floating point
    LMS_FMT_I16, ///<16-bit integers
    LMS_FMT_I12 ///<12-bit integers stored in 16-bit variables
    }dataFmt;

2)The RF tone is working , but I got a very high noise floor, the signal quanlity is poor, is there any other settings I need to set ?

3)How to clean up the waveform memory? Should I do that before re-writing the waveform memory?