LimeSDRmini and Beaglebone Black

Hi folks!
Okay, I am writing my first post on a forum ever. You will probably notice. I probably put it in the wrong place.
I used to be an RF engineer and then I somehow started building giant telescopes as a controls engineer for a living. I recently got intrigued by SDR and decided that a good way to learn more about SDR and Linux would be to dive in and try to put together a nice simple SDR. Great idea I said to myself - I can improve my Linux chops and do some RF engineering. I looked at what was available (spec. wise) and it was a no-brainer that the Lime SDR mini was the best bang for the buck. So I signed up and waited for my very cool little radio to arrive – incredible performance potential for about 3% the cost of what I used to design and build in analog component. Problem is, I am a Linux newby. So I thought to myself “Hey self, I will be able to learn Linux and SDR with an interesting project”. So I bought a Beaglebone Black with Debian Linux running on it. I think I am now in way over my head (good thing my head is hard and I will press on at all costs).
I managed to get LimeSuite running nicely on my giant Mac (good for us old guys who did so much SMD soldering we can’t see anymore). But I don’t want to use my nice Mac for this, I want to build a small, power sipping portable radio.
The Beaglebone is my plan for the brains of a small portable radio. I am an old-school ham (N6AI) and think that a nice starter project will be a little HF transceiver (again, more interesting the than the spread spectrum stuff I used to do). Enough blah blah blah…