I can't figure out what this is on 20M...or why it's happening

I’m here at my buddy, N9TGR’s, house testing my freshly modded SDR (for HF) and I think I’m missing something. I did the mod on the RX1_W port. The radio is amazing <12MHz, but anything from roughly 12-19MHz is…well…the first pic is of 20 meters, the second is a 7 MHz span.

I’m listening through a 80 foot tower with a 4 el. SteppIR on it.

Anyone have any clues/ideas for me?

The same problem that I have. Signals mixed in by the harmonics of the oszillator. You see the 7th harmonics.

Try to demodulate the signals from the second screenshot with WFM.

That…ok, so that makes sense, but is there no way to stop it? or a remedy?

filters, filters and more filters…

Filters …

This might make you go “dang”

Gents, sorry for the basic question. I am completely new to HAM
I see the above clean spectrum. I did the same picture around 15MHz , same settings of SDR Console. Removed inductance on RX1_L, calibrated Limesdr.
Ramsin has so clean spectrum. Mine is full of spurs. I use telescopic room antenna put on my window.

Why do I see those spurs? Is this because I use unappropriated antenna for this band?
Is my area very tones crowded?(I am in a big city) The tones you see change their levels 3,4 dB each 2, 3 seconds but stay at the original place. So I would think those are something really available in my local ether.

Thanak you
Dimitar

Hard to say dpenev … get a bandpass filter and try again …

Its probably power supply noise or LNA gain is too high.

You didn’t state if your LimeSDR was in a shielded case …

What does the display look like with no antenna might help you

@martywittrock I just saw a video of you testing out your Lime on 20…without the harmonics I’m experiencing. What was your secret?

1 Like

@Ramsin,