This is good news -- RISC V CPU core for LimeSDR

The project is moving ahead.

https://fossi-foundation.org/2017/05/04/gsoc

One question to @andrewback, do we also get the FuseSoC development tools as a bonus as part of this work?

Congrats to the student Cairo Caplan too! Thanks to the mentors too.

They were two separate project ideas, but it does look that way.

It’s very exciting indeed and looking forward to LimeSDR with RISC-V + FuseSoC :sunglasses:

1 Like

Looking forward to this. It seems ambitious but with three mentors that should make it move along.

Let us know if there’s testing or something we can do here.

2 Likes

Hello!

Thank you @andrewback ,
So here I present myself, my name is Cairo. I am working on the port of RISC V CPUs and FuseSoC integration of the LimeSDR gateware. Currently I am a PhD student in Aix-Marseille and I have some time of experience on FPGA programming. For long I have interest to work with a open source CPU project and I find amazing the concept of SDR in hardware, as allowed by LimeSDR with its FPRF ASIC.

I have picked three flavors open sources RISC V CPUs that are FPGA friendly to test, which I want to profit as they can share the same Instructions Set and software tools.
Orca - https://github.com/VectorBlox/orca ,
Pulpino - pulpino/fpga at master · pulp-platform/pulpino · GitHub
picorv32 - GitHub - YosysHQ/picorv32: PicoRV32 - A Size-Optimized RISC-V CPU

As soon as I get the first of them working my focus will turn on how to make the system FuseSoC friendly.

My work will be published on the riscv branch of LimeSDR Gateware repository on GitHub

Soon I will give the link of a blog where I am writing my experiences with the setup and the project.

I accept suggestions and help, my contact is cairorj@gmail.com .
Wish me luck!

8 Likes

Cairo,

We not only wish you luck, but we’re inspired by what you’re off to contribute to the Lime community.

Onward and upward…!

73 de Marty, KN0CK

2 Likes

Good luck!!! :shamrock: