OOK Transmitter in C

Hi All

I am a complete noob as far as the limesdr h/w and tools are concerned.
I have spent the weekend running small examples on the LimeSDR-Mini

my goal is to produce an OOK transmitter, and I was hoping to use the following as my starting point for the basicTX

If my reading is correct this example is actually modulating the carrier as opposed to switching on/off

If I had the following requirements, what should I be looking at
Transmit frequency 500Mhz
OOK data rate 500kb/s

any help or guidance appreciated.

@LMPA66
I’m kind of new too but will try to help.
This example sets up your device and then transmits the data in the buffer repeating for 10 seconds.

With LMS_SendStream(…) the data passed in tx_buffer get’s stored in a Ring buffer (see FIFO.h), and as soon as the TX thread started by LMS_StartStream gets CPU time, some samples in the buffer will be sent by the hardware (see TransmitPacketsLoop() in Streamer.cpp).
So a it’s kind of OOK, because it will only send when the tx thread gets CPU time. The carrier will be there constantly.

Hope that helps for a start.
Also if I am wrong I hope some of the experts here will correct me.

-Martin

Hi Martin

thanks for responding.
Maybe I am totally misunderstanding, but I assumed the values in the tx_buffer define a sine wave (tone frequency) modulated onto the carrier
const double tone_freq = 1e6; //tone frequency

So in other words, is this not producing a 500Mhz carrier with a 1Mhz Amplitude Modulation ?

Whereas I am not looking to modulate the carrier, but simply to ‘gate’ the carrier On/Off

Regards
Lee

Yes, you are right, kind of went overboard with the tx thread stuff. The tx_buffer only holds the 1MHz tone. And if you run the test the device will send the 500MHz carrier and the 1MHz tone.