Noise occurs when increasing SampleRate using LimeSDR-USB with Pothos

Hi all,

I am new to LimeSDR and this stuff is awesome! But I met a problem which is important for me when trying to use it.

I use PothosFlow on my Mac to work with LimeSDR-USB. I want to use Waveform Source block to generate a 10MHz baseband sinusoid signal with sample rate at 40MHz, and then transfer it to Soapy SDR Sink block in order to transmit the signal to LimeSDR board through USB3.0.

I set the frequency in SDR Sink block to be 70MHz and Sample Rate also 40MHz, and I used a spectrum analyzer to see the spectrum. But when I did this, I saw an abnormally high level noise in spectrum as shown in Figure 1.

Then I changed the baseband frequency to be 0.1MHz, and set the sample rate as 1MHz both in Waveform Source block and SDR Sink block. This time everything was fine, and the spectrum is quite clean as shown in Figure 2!

After that, I sustained the frequency as 0.1MHz, and increased the sample rate to be 40MHz, the noise occurred again as shown in Figure 3!

It seems that the highest sample rate for LimeSDR-USB3.0 is 60MHz, so anybody can help me on this? Thank you in advance!

Yuan

Have you tried with all other USB devices unplugged (or as many as you can remove), like no USB hard drives, no USB flash drives, no USB video adapters, …

And have you tried using a different USB port (not all USB ports are equal, performance will depend on the chipset used, which can change from port to port even on the same computer, I’ve seen computers with 4 different USB controllers from different manufacturers).

You said Mac, but no info about model type/CPU/RAM.