LimeSDR RF loopback testing

Hello,

I am new to LimeSDR platform. I am trying to enable 802.15.4e TSCH protocol using GNU Radio with LimeSDR-USB A. Because the protocol is time slotted protocol I have strict timing constraints. I am trying to do a round trip delay analysis of the test setup using RF loopback enabled on the FPGA. I have noticed the following thing (correct me if I am wrong):

• The IQ data stream I am sending never comes back as it is, the received stream has reduced amplitude and also the digital sample values are changed. Because I am not using the LMS7002M chip shouldn’t the RF loopback enable me to receive the same data stream?
    Also, I tried using the measureDelay.py to measure the delay but it fails because the argMax index and corrIndex are not converging. I have enabled the loopback by writing 0x55 to the FPGA register 0x0017 ( I took the values from the Limesuite Implementation) but the results are still not converging.

Any help would be highly appreciated.

Thanks,
Saptarshi

Tagging @Zack.

Could you be more specific on this? Not sure if I understand your setup correctly.

Anyway, RF loopback test means, that you have this chain:

PC --> FPGA --> LMS7002M Tx (ADC, …, RF) --> LMS7002M Rx (RF, …, DAC) -> FPGA -> PC

As you can see, RF is included in the chain. Hence no wonder that your signal gain will be different and received samples doesn’t match with those were sent.

I am trying to do this setup

Message Source -> GNU Radio -> FPGA TX----> FPGA RX -> GNU Radio -> Message Sink.
The gnu radio is running 802.15.4 MAC and PHY layers. So when I send the message I measure the system time lets say t1 and when I receive my message I get the time t2. So I measure the overall round-trip latency as t2-t1.