GNU Radio or Pothos?

Hello,

I am new to SDR.

Since a few days I am wondering how Pothos compares to GNU Radio.

I understood Pothos has more advanced topology evaluation scheduler and it seems it is more Windows friendly.
It seems it is developed by a very talented and productive person.
From the other hand behind GNU Radio we have big community for years so I guess we will have much bigger functionality there.

Can someone having some experience in those two shed some light on this in terms of performance and functionality (size of the available blocks set)

Thanks
Dimitar

1 Like

I haven’t had a chance to play with my LimeSDR with GNURadio or Pothos because I’m using SDRConsole V3.0. The only thing I wanted to confirm is that Pothos was authored by a VERY talented fellow who’s tirelessly works on the LimeSDR effort as one of the development team - and that’s @joshblum (Josh Blum). You will not find a more talented and helpful guy than Josh…I know, I’ve worked with him on the LimeSDR Beta effort. If you’re going to use anything, use Pothos…

73 de Marty, KN0CK

Hi Marty,

Yeah I have read about the story behind Pothos and I am already getting some idea and feelings about Josh.
However I want to get some pragmatic thoughts about those two software packages.

Thanks
Dimitar

Great question.
Is anyone doing anything on Pothos in relation to DMR encoding and decoding?
I’ve seen some modules for GNURadio covering that.
Sorry, not trying to hijack the thread, just thought this was a similar topic.

one problem I’m having is that because there are so many abstraction layers between gnuradio and the lms driver, it’s very hard to adjust parameters on the lime that aren’t thought of ahead of time.

For example, in gnuradio the layers look like

gnuradio -> gr-osmosdr -> soapysdr -> libLMS7Support.so -> libLimeSuite.so.17.02-1 (actual driver)

so when we are using a source block for the lime using gr-osmosdr we see the below dialog,