Configuration of LimeSDR for GPS signal data collection

Hello Everyone,

I am new to LimeSDR and LimeSuite. I need to collect GNSS signals using LimeSDR as a frontend.

I have already used frontends like RTL-SDR and USRP with GNURadio for the same purpose. But LimeSDR looks a little different. What I understood after reading its documentation is, we need to configure LimeSDR via LimeSuite GUI in order to make it receive GNSS signals. And this ‘.ini’ file goes into the LimeSuite Sink (RX) in GNURadio.

Now my question is:

1. Can I just use the ‘example.ini’ file from this link and modify the frequency and sample rate according to my requirement?

2. Where can I set the format of data that I am going to collect? (for example, I want the data in the format of ‘int8’).

Any help will be appreciated.
Thank you!

@priyankap - Priyanka,

Please look here -----> Running your LimeSDR on GNSS_SDR on Ubuntu 17.10

Let me know if you need anything else -

73 de Marty, KN0CK

Hello @martywittrock,

Thank you for your reply. I have used this already for my USRP front end. And it worked fine.

But now I don’t want to use gnss-sdr, I have my own software program for GNSS signal processing. So I just need to configure my limeSDR for Galileo data collection. And I need to store the collected data in a file.

Can I still use this ‘.conf’ file to configure my LimeSDR?

Because previously, I was using USRP with GNURadio to collect and store the data. And I want to do the same with LimeSDR and GNURadio. But when I use LimeSuite Sink(RX) in GNURadio it asks me for a ‘.ini’ file(which is a configuration file for LimeSDR) to set it for data collection.

Now my question is:
Can I convert this ‘.conf’ file to ‘.ini’ file in order to use it in GNURadio?

Thank you.

Hello @priyankap,
To answer your questions: